Hobbs Chosen to Lead County Court in Valentine

Hobbs Chosen to Lead County Court in Valentine

Wednesday, October 11, 2023

Michaela Hobbs, who previously served as Assistant Clerk in Cherry and Brown Counties, has been selected to serve as Cherry County Court Clerk Magistrate in Valentine. Hobbs began work as clerk magistrate on October 5, 2023.

“While Michaela has only been with the courts for about a year and a half, her training and experience are an excellent foundation for the position of clerk magistrate,” according to Trial Court Services Director Sheryl Connolly.  “We look forward to working with her.”    

County court clerk magistrates work under the general direction of the presiding county judge supervising, assigning, and directing the work of staff within the county court. The position carries a high level of responsibility for the people, paperwork, finances, and records of the court. Hobbs will be responsible for ensuring the efficiency of the court’s administrative functions and for investigating and evaluating potential procedural changes.

Hobbs will work in the 8th Judicial District with fellow clerk magistrates Cristin Fay of Brewster, Roxanne Philben of Ainsworth/Springview, Bert Meschke of Burwell/Bartlett, Lisa Johnson of St. Paul, Michelle Soto of Greeley, Lisa Bower of Ord, Janelle Mostek of Loup City, Debra Hansen of Taylor/Broken Bow, Laura Reynoldson of O’Neill, and Cathy Reiman of Butte/Bassett. Judges Kale Burdick, James Orr, and Tami Schendt preside over the courts and direct the magistrates in the 8th District. The 8th District includes Blaine, Boyd, Brown, Cherry, Custer, Garfield, Greeley, Holt, Howard, Loup, Keya Paha, Rock, Sherman, Valley, and Wheeler counties.